Planning Process

How we got here.


Under the leadership of President Nick Ladany, Oglethorpe began its strategic planning process in November 2020. The process provided university stakeholders with multiple opportunities to give input and collectively develop a meaningful and visionary strategic plan. The planning process included four phases, which can be viewed in the timeline below.

timeline graphic

Strategic Planning Facilitation Team

The Strategic Planning Facilitation Team (SPFT) was comprised of faculty, staff, trustees, alumni, parents, and administrators. The SPFT met monthly and continually incorporated stakeholder feedback into the development of the Mission, Vision, Core Values, Strategic Priorities, and Strategic Initiatives.

Dr. Marisa Atencio, Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Global Education
Dr. Laura Renée Chandler, Vice President of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Dr. Mario Chandler, Professor of Spanish
Zuri Johnson ’23, Oglethorpe Student
Dr. Kate Keib, Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
Dr. Nick Ladany, Oglethorpe University President
Dr. Kathryn McClymond, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Dr. Tahiti Mitchell, Oglethorpe Parent
Dr. Brian Patterson, Associate Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science
Dr. Viviana Plotnik, Professor of Spanish
Randy Roberson ’97, Oglethorpe Trustee and Alumnus
John Tilford, OUMA Curator of Collections
Dr. Rebecca Sandidge, Chief of Staff
Dr. Iona Wynter-Parks, Lecturer of French
Dr. Katharine Zakos, Associate Professor of Communication Studies


Engaged participation among stakeholders was key to producing a meaningful and visionary strategic plan.

More about the Strategic Plan: